Suit Yourself
Suit Yourself Back row: Bernadette Woods, Jill Oliver, Judy Church, Ronnie Novotney, Arlene Vukcevic, Cindy Carleton, Arlene Dyckes, Lynne Whitehouse, Julie Morales. Front: Pat Cassella, Sharan McPadden, Barbara Britt, Midge Mramor. Not pictured: Arlene Becks and Mary Jo Miller

About Us

We assist clients in the selection of interview appropriate outfits and refer clients to various job-training resources as needed. Our goal is to ensure women are given the necessary outfits and coaching to facilitate self-sufficiency. While not gender specific, Suit Yourself intends to begin by offering services to the segment of our community that has initially demonstrated the greatest need (i.e., women).

  • November 2003

    The organization's Founder conducted a focus group with women from business and social service agencies in Lake, Geauga, and Ashtabula counties. This group decided to establish a regional program to provide free career clothing and accessories to women in work/life transition.

  • January 2004

    Monthly planning meetings were held, an organizational structure was developed, by-laws were created, and a volunteer board of trustees was established.

  • July 2004

    The group evaluated space options and sought partnership opportunities. The Lakeland Foundation agreed to serve as our fiscal agent.

  • September 2004

    Our first clothing drive was held at Lakeland Community College.

  • December 2004

    Suit Yourself's new service was announced to 50 social service agencies and churches.

  • March 2005

    The first client was served. Since then, Suit Yourself has served hundreds of clients.

  • May 2006

    Suit Yourself was approved as a 501c3 non-profit tax exempt organization by the IRS.

  • April 2007

With generous support a grant from The Ashtabula Foundation, Suit Yourself in cooperation with The Salvation Army opened a second boutique in Ashtabula.

  • January 2011

    Suit Yourself relocated its Painesville facility from Victoria Place to Walnut Avenue.
  • July 2011

    The By-Laws were amended to reduce the number of Trustees from fifteen to thirteen.